Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A step backwards? Warning: a LOT of text!
Hey everyone! You may have seen me around the forum, though I have never taken the time (until now) to post anything serious - that is to say, my posts have usually just involved the "word games" section. I have a bit of a dilemma that has been going around my head for the last month and a half. I'll try to keep it short and sweet but I have a horrible hereditary habit of rambling on.

Here's the situation: I am a second year pharmacy student. In the last year of high school I applied to study medicine. I was allowed to choose to apply to four universities for this subject, and then chose Pharmacy as my last "backup" subject. In short, I received three out-right rejections, and was given an interview for the university of St. Andrews, but ultimately didn't make the cut. So I accepted the unconditional offer made to me by RGU, and settled for becoming a pharmacist.

I kind of figured that being rejected by medicine meant that it wasn't meant to be, which is why I attempted to forget about the whole thing. The ordeal of applying for medicine - the specific hoops that had to be jumped through, the ridiculously high standards set by the various schools, and the fierce competition for such a small proportion of places - had made me doubt myself and my eligibility to study this subject.

I've had several placements, and learned quite a bit about the role of the pharmacist in community and hospital settings. But the problem is that these have not met my expectations. They are not hands-on in the same way as medicine, and try as I might, it's a substitution - but not a replacement for the career I had originally imagined.