Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
About your job - how, when?
Where do you work right now? How did you find this job - Internet, friends, magazines, etc? What was your first workplace?

I'm 22 years old and I'm ashamed to confess but I've never worked yet. Now I would like to get my first job but I don't know how to start, where to look. I'm still studying in the university. I just know for sure I would prefer working with papers rather than with people.

I work in retail - not going to mention where as they check haha. I started when I was 19 before my second year of uni because in the first year I ran up debts of around £4k so realised I needed a job. Got a 4 hour a week contract as a christmas temp on tills - saw the sign in the window. 5 years later I'm now a department manager earning around £29k, (which is pretty decent) in the same job. I've never pictured myself staying and never thought I would want to, but at the moment I am enjoying it Smile

I also thought I'd rather an office job - but after being in retail for 5 years I HATE the office side and much prefer being physical and active on the shop floor dealing with customers! Its odd haha.
[COLOR="Purple"]As I grow to understand less and less,
I learn to love it more and more.
[/COLOR]

But is that your dream to work there, like seriously man? I have big ambitions and imma try to stick with them..

Hmm. Most of my jobs were via know who - meaning I knew a person who connected me with a person who had a job they needed filled.

Commercial work, such as for JC Pennies I answered ads. JC Pennies had a half page in the newspaper looking for Christmas Seasonal workers. I not only got to work for that Christmas Season but got extended until I quit the next August.

Now days its typical of 20 something year olds to be living off their folks. Back in my fay there was more of a solid, hard 18 year old line drawn in the sand - nay carved in stone.