Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
About your job - how, when?
I've been self-employed for fifteen or sixteen years. I make my living from music - composing, performing, running workshops. Over the past couple of years I have worked hard at reducing my outgoings, so that I only have to earn money a couple of days a week. It's a work in progress and there is a way to go. Working for a living is over-rated. By many standards I live below the poverty line, but I am not poor. I don't claim benefits and I don't owe money, although it is a bit hand-to-mouth most of the time. I can't see a time when I shall ever be able to retire, but that's okay while I have my health. I love my life. I live in a beautiful place with horses, moorhens and the odd kingfisher for neighbours.

B.A. is right. The edifice is crumbling. Clear your debts, because it will get messy. The way most of us live is completely unsustainable. We are consuming far more than our fair share of the world's resources.

As for advice to the OP, the only thing I can suggest is find something you can do for which others might want to pay you. Try not to rely on someone else to supply you with a job.

I am currently a team leader at a call centre that sells phone and internet service, but I am sort of a multi tasking employee. We are not a third party call centre, it is an in house call centre.

I started my job in June 2009 in Ottawa as a Customer service representative. Every six months I moved up within the call centre and by June 2011 I became a team leader. In between, I was part of the training committee since we were a small company at the time and I would teach them how to use our systems and teach agents how to do sales (at the good old age of 21)

Ive always been used as a wild card at the company, Ive assisted and lead in interviews for the call centre, including the call centre manager position.