Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Abuse at work? Ever had it?
marshlander Wrote:When I was a teacher at a residential school for boys in care (more than thirty years ago) I was stabbed in the face by a fifteen year-old who didn't fancy doing any writing that day. Worse than that was the response of the head who said, "If this boy misbehaves again, let me know and we'll stop his weekend leave." Fine, I'll just go and get my face stitched shall I?
yeah thats what i'm talking about :mad:

Kudos to you, blackstar! I could not do the job you do.

When I took the job at the school I mentioned, the governor at the interview said to me, "Of course, you do realise that when someone says this boy should be put away, this is where he's put?" He wasn't kidding. It was my first experience of people who thought so differently from the way I saw the world that we might as well have been from different species :eek: We took boys up to the age of seventeen and every day was a battle. I don't know what your situation is like, but the non-stop barrage of name calling, the deliberate acts of petty provocation, the subtle and direct threats as well as outright acts of violence are all very firmly embedded in my memory. :frown:

marshlander Wrote:Being pinned against a wall for fifteen minutes, by someone who thought my band should be playing and singing Irish rebel songs ... yeah, right.

I used to drive taxis in the evenings, I got quite lot of drunken abuse in that job.

When I was a teacher at a residential school for boys in care (more than thirty years ago) I was stabbed in the face by a fifteen year-old who didn't fancy doing any writing that day. Worse than that was the response of the head who said, "If this boy misbehaves again, let me know and we'll stop his weekend leave." Fine, I'll just go and get my face stitched shall I?

I've not seen any marks, it must have healed well... :confused:

marshlander Wrote:Kudos to you, blackstar! I could not do the job you do.