Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Advice on Putting Myself Out There
Hello everyone!

I'm 17, I turn 18 in November, and I am a Freshman in college. In case you haven't pick up on it yet, I am gay but I am not out of the closet, nor do I plan on entirely coming out. My father's side of the family is Jamaican, so I pretty much have gotten the "anti-gay" thing my whole life, and my mother's side is from the south so I'm basically in a lose-lose situation here. However, I don't want to let that stop me from exploring myself in college.

I've never done it with another guy, I came close once but I got scared because I'm all for, "It'll happen when you're ready, but how do I put myself out there more in the gay scene without actually being out there? Like, I want to meet other guys, probably date, and so on. I basically want to try having a love life, but I am too scared to actually come out on campus too. So, do any of you have tips or can relate to my situation? It would be very helpful.

I didn't quite come to terms with my sexuality into my senior year of high school, so there is all very new to me, but I don't want to rid myself of a sex life and seclude myself in a bathroom all the time, if you know what I mean.

I was thinking of maybe joining the volleyball team? Or something...

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum @youno3

One of the first ways you can begin to come out is hang out on a forum like this one. Get to know other gay youth. There are many here closer to your age than am I. Just talking with other gay guys you'll begin to learn that we're as diverse as straight guys. Some of us are very out-going, others not. Some are very sexually liberal, others not. And so on. The advice you'll get from people here will vary depending on their personality type, their age, their experience level. So bare all that in mind.