Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Advice yet again
I know what you mean Redo. I followed a pattern pretty similarly to yours for several years, and I guess I still do. The difference is that, I managed to cultivate a couple friendships from work, which led to a few more friendships and lots of interesting things happening.

After I graduated High School, I was working at McDonalds 2 weeks later as I planned to take a break from school and pay off a 1700$ medical bill from back surgery I had in my senior year. That led me to meeting my best friend after he got hired there a couple months after me. He got hired, I worked morning shift and they asked me to train him and so I ended up talking to him a bit and we had some similar interests in video games to start off. He then said he was making his own table top RPG game (sorta like dungeons and dragons) and asked if I was interested in playing it with some other people he had found. I said sure, and it just snowballed from there.

But I still am a very antisocial person, even after that. I've never had a large group of friends. I'm lucky to say that I've got 3 bestest friends (1 of which is my girlfriend), and then a few more pretty close friends after that. I have more acquantances from work or video games that I get along with, but don't make any effort to hang out or talk to outside of wherever I know them. I too just go to work, come home and stay in my room on the computer. I've been doing that for years. But I like it, I enjoy what I do.

So maybe, you just need to find some hobbies you can enjoy doing on your own, but I think the friendship is what's going to make you feel better. You can still have friends, even if you work 3rd shift. You're not the only one out there on that shift Big Grin