Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Almost "breaking down" & trying to be friends w/ ex
I KNOW there's differing views on being friends w/ exes & I've been fighting w/ myself over it for 4 months now. It's "supposed" to be getting "easier" but it's not for me. I am in a depression over it that won't go away. I've tried every antidepressant there is over my lifetime & none ever helped so I am "stuck" enduring it unless I can find some other solution(s).

So, I'm considering swallowing my pride & contacting my ex to see if he is still willing or "able" (i.e., seeing someone so "can't" now) to be "friends." It's very risky obviously. I still want him back (even though most people would say I shouldn't based on the break up & aftermath, etc. - http://gayspeak.com/showthread.php?t=31367) BUT I have absolutely no one else to turn to & have not been able to make/find/get any friends (god forbid anything more than that). I'd just have to talk to & be around him & not mention the past or my feelings on things......just be content w/ whatever time we could spend together.

Conventional wisdom (if not common sense) would say "do not do it" but I am going mental & no other ways (I've tried everything) have helped me get over this AT ALL. I "need" him as a "friend."

I thought you played a role in this before and you didn't really like hearing it. After reading this...I am positive you are playing a role in this.

If you want out of the cycle and want to get beyond it...OWN YOUR ROLE in this relationship.

You have to rescue yourself.

I can relate to this so much more than you know. I fight severe depression too, which got worse when my ex dumped me in April. (he still loved his ex). I still love him and always will, and three months on we're still 'friends' (that bonk every now and then) and for some reason I'm actually helping him rekindle a flame with the guy HE loves who he was with for 3 years even though it kills me.