Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Any Scriptwriters on Here?
So I'm not technically a scriptwriter in terms of TV/film/etc, but I am a marketing writer that's written on a much smaller scale... but the other stuff's been an interest for some time. I probably haven't kept up with it like I should, outside of the writing for my job, but was informed of a contest for TV comedy pilots (a pilot being like the first ep of a new show for those not in the know), and the entry fee was actually free! I felt like I didn't have an excuse to not try, so the last few weeks have been working on a script.

Now, comedy is not my strong suit, and it's just the first draft right now, but I was wondering if there's any fellow people here with an interest in scriptwriting that might want to read it and give some feedback? If so, just PM me with your e-mail and I can send a PDF.

The overall premise is a kid start a new school his freshman year of high school and the embarrassments that can come with it, but his family is unique in that his parents are dwarves though he's not. I realized halfway in that part of the plot (not the dwarf part, something else) reminded me of a cable show but I hope it's different enough. Regarding the dwarf part, if we happen to have any reading on here, even if you're not a scriptwriter, it'd be cool to get your input. I want to make sure I'm not offensive. I'm not overly PC or anything, as I think it's important we all laugh at ourselves and it is a comedy after all, but making sure I haven't offended is also something I want to make sure about Smile

Thanks everyone.

Hey jbrowder24: I am a starting screenwriter/playwright with some marketing voiceover and speech and scriptwriting experience. I know the frustration of only having an outlet at work for creativity.

The dwarf premise does remind me of the reality show on some channel.

If you would like a read, please contact me.