Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Classroom activities
I'm a high school teacher in Portugal and I'm always looking for ideas to keep my Economy students busy.

I work with the toughest students you can possibly imagine: 16 - 19 y.o., totally unmotivated, most of them from the local slums.

A couple of recent activities that worked really well:

1 - Music archive: they had to listen to 100 mp3 files and organise them

2 - Creative writing: each one wrote a sentence and in the end we got a complete story

3 - Treasure hunt at the local book fair

4 - Ride on the local ho ho bus

5 - Photomarathon in the streets of the historic district

Any other tips?

Thanks in advance!

Yup you got the worst age range. High school kids (especially boys) brains don't function properly. So they are up to all kinds of dumb stuff.

I don't have any advice other than enjoy the fu k out of what you do and be passionate. Try to get the most out of every student you can. Tho some can be hard to.

Kiid Wrote:Yup you got the worst age range. High school kids (especially boys) brains don't function properly. So they are up to all kinds of dumb stuff.

I don't have any advice other than enjoy the fu k out of what you do and be passionate. Try to get the most out of every student you can. Tho some can be hard to.

Thank you for your encouraging words, Kiid. Believe me, I really need them right now.

Ask them if the were the president of Earth, what would their first decree be?

Other than that, good luck! It takes a brave man to educate someone elses kids!

Spades Wrote:Ask them if the were the president of Earth, what would their first decree be?

Other than that, good luck! It takes a brave man to educate someone elses kids!

Thanks, sweetie. Kiss3