Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Differences
Hiya,

I'm knew here so not really sure what to expect lol but here goes:

My boyfriend and I have been together for 13 months now. 12 of those months have been long-distance. I love him, but being away from him for long periods of time make me question certain things about out relationship. Things that I tend to overlook when we're together become glaringly obvious. Those things make me question if I'm making the right decision.

The latest being my pets. I'm an animal lover, always have been and it's a crucial part of who I am (I'm studying for a Masters in Marine Biology and have a B.S. in Animal Science lol). He very much is not a animal lover, in fact he hates dogs. I have a dog that I love dearly, that he never supports me with and that I know he only tolerates because of me.

Lately I've been considering getting another dog and when I told him he said he would break up with me if I did. I know love is about compromise and all that, but to be rejected about something that is so fundamental to who I am, hurts and makes me question our relationship. Am I being unfair and irrational? Should I have to compromise a part of who I am for the sake of the relationship?

"Lately I've been considering getting another dog and when I told him he said he would break up with me if I did."
..his reason why is because.....? Ask him why.

I take it you're saying that over 13 months you've only managed to spend 30 days or so together. Is that right?

It just depends on how much dogs are a part of your life. For example, I usually date men who are traditional or have cultures similar to my own as it's a big part of my life.

Hi! We saw each other almost everyday for the first 2 months of the relationship, then he moved away. We usually make a point to meet up in person once a month, but for the last 2 1/2 months we haven't seen each other.