Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dropping Out of College-Yay or Nay?
Hello. I'm back for more advice.
Essentially, this is my mini-story: I'm a junior in college. If I worked really hard, I could finish in one year. I have a part-time job that I love, but has nothing to do with my major (at least, the qualifications do not). But I absolutely hate college. Due to different issues, I have had the opportunities to take some different leaves. I thought, at the time, that I was just burned out. Because of a high school program, I was able to "quit" high school (hated that too) and get a little under two years of college finished by the time I graduated high school. Also, because of the program I was in, the tuition was free (textbooks not, unfortunately).
My parents have paid for about a year's worth of college now. I've tried asking to drop out. We basically go through this every quarter. And every time, the response I get is so negative that I end up going back. But then I just end up hating it even more. I am very aware of the work that they have put into tuition. I am aware that not everyone gets to go to college, let alone have it paid for them. And it is this reason why I feel a tremendous amount of guilt. Right now, someone could take my seat, someone who really enjoys the education process and is extremely motivated to be there. It's not a problem of the wrong major, but just the way that it is being taught not only makes it not enjoyable, but seems to makes me almost hate the subject. The whole thing really goes against my values and what I believe in.