Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Failure to protect
Cardiganwearer Wrote:No need to apologise, I can argue all day about the constitution of another country and it's gratifying to a newcomer to have someone read my stuff and engage me in debate.

He is legally bound to appeal because the law has not changed, the bill has not passed both houses.
He is obliged to appeal because a district court does not have the authority of the supremes (Stop! in the name of love) who have the ultimate authority to declare something unconstitutional and force a law down. If he doesn't appeal the situation doesn't get resolved, district court ruling notwithstanding. It has to go to the Supreme Court to get the final stamp of unconstitutionality.

Usual caveats, I'm not a lawyer and I'm no stranger to that exquisite sensation of being completely wrong.

Oh my, here is the circus of the American political arena.

No, the President is not legally bound to appeal a federal court decision challenging the constitutionality of any law. A challenge to the constitutionality of a law is the primary concern of the Judiciary branch in the balance of powers. However, anyone can appeal the findings of a ruling to the next court level, including the executive branch.

That the case in question should be appealed to the next level of the federal court system is a given, since the district judge's decision would have had national implications. If DADT is to be overturned by the judiciary, it rightly should be done by the Supreme Court, which requires an appeal.