Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ged
Did anyone ever take and pass the GED test? When I found out I would have to go back to that horrible high school I used to attend for exams, I dropped out of school. So I have my first GED test tomorrow. How is it?

What's a GED test?
An eye for an eye

Dan1980 Wrote:What's a GED test?

It's a test offered in the US to provide people an outlet to get a high school diploma (General Education DIploma) after having dropped out of school.

I'm far from an expert on the education system in America, but I think there are GED prep courses available. Taking classes with adults a couple hours a week is not the same as high school, and you might consider it if you are worried about preparing for the test on your own.

I know that here in the US, if you drop out of high school, it is an alternative test you can take that can give you an equal to a High School diploma.

I found it easy, and I think a lot of it was multiple choice. It included math, grammar, and reading comprehension. There was also one essay, and I was lucky I took a practice exam first or I would've messed up. In the practice exam I was asked for an opinion on whether something was good or bad and I gave both the pros & cons and was marked down for not picking a side to stick with.

And I do highly recommend the practice exam because that will let you know how "ready" you are for it. That said, I did find it a chore having to pass it with flying colors twice (OTOH, I did much better on the essay part the 2nd time around).

I made that mistake when I was nearly 17. I took the G.E.D. to leave school earlier than graduation. I have paid for that with 'The look' people give you. Potential new bosses will throw your resume away and pick a person who graduated more often than not. They don't even bother to do the simple math to calculate you took the GED early to get out of school. They don't ask either.