Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Grad School Application: please cheer me up!
A few months ago I started to look into some Grad School programs to teach Italian in US High Schools, which has been a dream of mine for a few years now. I went to New York for another course I had to take and at the same time I gathered tons of info about the programs, visited the colleges I want to apply to, talked to admission counsellors, students and stuff. After coming back to Italy, I finished my exams and graduated a few weeks ago.

Now I'm preparing all the paperwork and working on the requirements for admission. I have some letters of recommendation already lodged, I'm attending the TOEFL course (Exam date: June 6th), I have my academic transcripts, police clearance, health status all translated.

I graduated with honors at my university (at the graduation ceremony, only 2 out of the other 60 people did), with a GPA at roughly 3.78, I'm a certified ESL teacher from Cambridge University, I'm about to work for 6 months in Australia as a Language Assistant in high schools.

Now, if I think about it rationally, I might believe that I have a chance at being accepted. But I haven't been rational these last few days. All I see is rejection coming up. US colleges are so competitive that I wonder why they should pick me! I'm sure it's just a rought patch but this is the dream of a lifetime and I don't want to miss it Sad

"US colleges are so competitive that I wonder why they should pick me!"

...they picked the gargoyle. You'll be fine. Smile

Lex

You seem competent and dedicated. If I think so, the people reading your application will probably think so too.

hold tight and think positively!!!
[Image: 51806835273_f5b3daba19_t.jpg]  <<< It's mine!