Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Graduating at a later age
Beaux Wrote:When I was growing up (think fur pelts, woden clubs, and granite wheels...), the general consensus was: 1) graduate highschool, 2) go to college for a two year degree OR a four year degree, & 3) work the rest of your life in your chosen profession.

Well, I graduated highschool (check), I went to college on an art scolorship and got a two year degree in Cullinary Art (check), and I worked 22 years in the Food Service Industry...(check?)...

The last 6 years of that era of my life, I owned my own restaurant in one city, and a catering company and a B&B in another city. I was working (on average) ~ 16 hours a day/ 6 days a week. I was a workaholic and LOVED it!

However, after being diagnoised with RA, I realized that I wasn't physically capable of keeping up with the demanding schedule I had created for myself, so I sold my businesses and returned to college. This time following an educational career that simply appealed to me (rather than one that I thought would make me the most money the fastest way possible).

I will be 43 yrs old come September, and I am pretty sure that when I graduate (I have 2 semesters left), I will be the oldest person in my class to be graduating with a BS in Biology.

I have had some pretty negetive comments from all sorts of people (one Career Counseler actually told me he thought I was wasting my money going back to school at all at my age!), but I don't care in the least. I worked hard for all those years so that I could provide for my son from my first marriage (Check!) and now this is for ME. It wouldn't matter to me if I never work again a day in my life (like I said, I worked hard for 22 years, and to be honest, I never HAVE to work again of I don't want to), but come hell or high water--I WILL finish my degree.