Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Having trouble coming out to myself
So basically, I have been battling with trying to figure out my sexuality for a few years. I have had a good few heterosexual girlfriends and experiences, and enjoyed them, consciously at least. However, it has recently become clear to me that I am repressing a whole other side of myself, and I can feel the energetic warps with my mind that cause me to neurotically avoid looking at all of that stuff. What I don't know is how deep it is, how much of my heterosexuality is just falsely created, and how much I'm going to freak out when that unavoidable connection with reality actually hits me full on. I have gotten close to that, but my mind just can't deal with it, and the feeling often fades quickly. Right now, I must say that I am very overwhelmed with all of it, and the idea of embracing my true sexuality is terrifying. I just don't want to see whatever truth is lurking underneath my overactive mind. Any ideas with starting to unpack this? I'm really confused at the moment.

Hi Skitty!

I know exactly how you feel. The only thing that works for myself is to look deep inside, and I usually find the answer waiting for me there - just quiet that little voice of your ego, that keeps saying "I want to be like this", "I want to be like that" or "I can't be like that, please, anything but that". Whatever is left, whatever you truly feel in your gut, that's who you are. (That doesn't mean that you have to _fully_ give into _every_ temptation without thinking of the consequences - not even straight people do that.)