Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
High schooler in need of help
I'm just beginning to come to terms with my sexuality, so I'm still in the closet, but I just found out that my school has a support group for LGBT students and allies. I'm really interested in it but I don't want my friends to know that I'm going there. I'm the type of person who is ALWAYS with their friends, and I just can't think of a way to leave them so I can go to the group. It's at lunch btw so it's not a class that I can simply add to my schedule in private. Does anyone have any ideas that could help me "sneak out"? I'm also wondering if anyone has gone through this before, I'd really like your advice Big Grin.

Hmm. This is what I am reading here:

"Help me hide from my so called friends because they are not really my friends, they are just people I hang with because I feel I must have a whole bunch of people around me to be 'someone'."

Eventually you are going to have to look up 'friend' and 'acquaintance' and learn the difference: http://www.inspirationalstories.com/10/1037.html is a good place to start.

Also, you are going to have to draw a line here and decide its OK to be alone - Alone does not mean lonely.

Helping you to "sneak out" is asking us to make up lies for you, to find ways to 'cheat' the social ethics of being social.

If you actually need to get time on your own, then just don't show up and meet these 'friends'. Beg off, tell them you have something else to do. You don't have to tell them what, just tell them you are busy.

They most likely will not miss you.... One or two might.... but then that is one of the many differences between friend and acquaintance.....

Hi, Nikki.
I found it difficult to take those first steps, too. Each of our circumstances is different and you have to do what YOU feel comfortable with and in your own time. Don't let anyone rush you in outing yourself especially while in school.