Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I'm a photographer & I've booked my first gay wedding - Please help!
Totally excited about booking first 'big' gay wedding but I've not posed a gay couple before. Can you please help me in how I would go about this?!

Would I pose one of the men in the usual husband poses and the other one in the wife poses! (sorry for this but I haven't got a clue)! Or do I try and pose them equally if that makes sense?

I would appreciate any comments/advice.

Ask them how they would prefer, both "masculine/masculine" posed or "masculine/feminine" posed. My bet is that they would prefer the "masculine/feminine" pose but it's best to ask them.

Don't worry. They will lead you in the way that they want. And I'm sure you will do fine.

Since this is relatively new territory I think you have every opportunity to be as creative as you and the couple please. Talk to them about the kind of effect they want. I'm not convinced about the masculine/feminine poses at all. Many would prefer good photographs that show a couple of equals at their best.

I'd go more for the equality thing (but then I've never really understood gender roles and I don't actually know what you mean by masculine/feminine poses. All I see is a couple standing together ... unless you mean one carrying the other)

Best bet, I'd say, is to ask the couple what they want but assume a starting point of m/m unless they guide you otherwise (we all like men, you see)

Incidentally, my fiancé actively walks out/drops purchases if anyone in the wedding industry try to paint one of us as the bride (yet he admits he is the more feminine of us). We went to a wedding fair a couple if months back and he ditched lots of brochures that didn't mention the possibility of same sex relationships (eg. With forms for "bride" and groom to fill in)

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk