Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I need legal advice regarding a lewdness charge
Here's my story:

Over Labor Day Weekend 2010 I was at Sandy Hook, NJ at the nude beach. To make a long story short I had a bad day, and through a series of unfortunate events, I ended up talking to a guy on the beach. He started touching me and then we ended up going behind the sand dunes to fool around. The rangers swooped in and arrested us. We were on an isolated stretch of beach and no one was around. No one saw us except the rangers with long-range binoculars. (By the way I have NEVER had any brush with the law prior to this or since. I'm a professional and a student.) The police told us he wouldn't arrest us if we showed our ID's. We did and they arrested us anyway.

Before my court appearance I talked to the public defender and she told me it was going to be downgraded to a petty misdemeanor. In court the assistant prosecutor told me it was being downgraded to "just a violation." He said "We just want to send the message not to do it again." When I cornered the main prosecutor and and the public defender together and asked the public defender if it's a being downgraded to a misdemeanor or a violation and if I will have a criminal record because of this this she said "We get asked this question all the time and the answer is we don't know." Later on the main prosecutor told me again it gets downgraded to a violation. Months later I called the public defender back for clarification and she said it is in fact a criminal offense (so she lied- she knew that before the court date and after, but somehow she didn't know on the court date).

I later on asked the magistrate judge for an official copy of the disposition and he sent it to me with no criminal/violation codes so I still could not verify whether it was downgraded to a petty misdemeanor or a violation.