Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Is uni meant to freak you out?
Hi everyone.

I am currently doing a Master's and my exams are a few days away.
Of course I am experiencing stress. But it has gotten to the point where thinking about uni gives me the creeps and I am even dreaming about it every night, even when I don't have exams.

I just wanted to know if others feel that uni or college is controling their lives, if you are experiencing night time anxiety and how you deal with that.

Thanks a lot!

I think uni is not for everyone. My parents always say that the years of a student is the most beautiful time in person's life. Well, for me it was my biggest nightmare. Like you, I was dreaming about studying and sometimes I couldn't even fall asleep because of stress about the next day. I realized already after the first year I was studying something I'm not interested in and I had lots of failures, because we had so much study material and it was impossible for me to do it all. I made it, but I only have Bachelor and that's it. I ran away from that place as fast as possible, without even thinking about Master's.

I had a different bad experience, but... But many acquaintances felt the same of you.
If you think you cannot go on, before doing something, think about where you are now. First year? Did only few exams? Or you surpassed the half of this 'journey' and you're not so far to the end... Etc.

I was stressed about it when I was in my first years of studies and my speciality depends on the results I got, but now, I'm in my last year (equivalent of Master 2) and I pretty don't give a fuck since I just need to have my diploma...no matters how.
I think this sentence of Bill Gates helped me to relax :biggrin: : “I failed in some subjects in exam, but my friend passed in all. Now he is an engineer in Microsoft and I am the owner of Microsoft.” Just to say in 10 years, nobody will care about how good you used to work at the university.