Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My turn to ask for advice for a change...
Well "advice" may not be the right word. Maybe I just need to share this to see what other people think.

Here's the situation: I go to my gym on the UC Berkeley campus at least four times a week. I go there to work out, not to socialize. I've been going there so long, however, I do *know* people there... most of them (not all) are staff and most of them (not all) are female.

Every Tuesday afternoon I go to an aerobics step class. This is something I've been doing more or less consistently for four or five years.

About three weeks ago I noticed this guy *notice me*. What's interesting about this is that I've been aware of the guy for years. Not like he's new to the gym. In times past I've seen him in a more advanced aerobic step class that happens in the evenings. However, for some unknown reason a few months ago he started coming to the class I usually go to, a much slower and more "basic to intermediate" class. But, although he had been coming to the class more or less regularly, it wasn't until about three weeks ago that *I noticed him noticing me*.

Does that make sense? I was aware that he was looking at me, more than once.

Alright so, this past Tuesday I 'felt' him look at me a couple times during class. After the class was over as I gathered up my stuff to leave the room, he came up to me and started asking me some questions. I had a foam roller with me and was about to go to the stretching room to roll out... like I often do. I was *very aware* that these questions were just an excuse to say "hi" to me. Our whole interaction was very brief (no more than a minute or so) but in the course of that I introduced myself and asked him his name, which I now have. After that we said our "see ya latters" and went our separate ways.