Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Needing some guidance; social anxiety
While I was in high school, I had terrible social anxiety. It was about that time when I really started struggling with my sexuality, and I had a lot of issues with self-esteem because I was socially awkward. I was really uncomfortable with myself, and I got made fun of a lot, mostly by guys who were younger than me, which made it even worse.

Those were awful times, but I've come a long way in the past few years. I have changed completely, I came out, I grew into myself, I became more attractive, I have good friends who embrace me, strangers greet me with a smile and I feel "normal" for the first time in my life, but sometimes, when I'm home, my life from high school still comes back to haunt me.

Today, for example, I was out in town at a convenience store, and a group of high school kids were there. Mind you I graduated just three years ago, so they would have recognized me. I could have sworn one of them whispered my name as they walked by, and when I ignored them they started laughing and one of them said "awkward".

Now, I could have just been imagining that that was about me, but I really don't know what else it could have been... how humiliating, I'm nearly 21 years old and young kids from high school still make fun of me. No doubt they remember me as the quiet, reserved, "creepy" guy (I've heard myself called that before), if only they knew what it was like to be in my shoes during that time.

I know this shouldn't bother me too much, but when my former life as an awkward teenager comes back to haunt me, it just me in such a bad place mentally and emotionally. It tears me down, for a while I feel terrible about myself again, and it makes me feel weak. I'll be honest, I feel great about myself nowadays, but my self-esteem is still a work in progress, and sometimes I forget how fragile it is.