Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Only attracted to older men
Hello people,

I'm fairly new to being gay and accepting it and what have you - I think it has taken me some time because I also had to accept the fact that the only guys I find even remotely attractive are middle-aged.

I'm interested to know just how common intergenerational relationships etc. are and how the gay community looks upon them.

Before anybody says anything quite so Freudian as "bad relationship with father" etc. I'd like to assure you that I maintain a perfectly healthy relationship with my father, who I love dearly. I haven't got round to telling my parents just yet about my sexuality and preferred attractions. It's another great fear of mine. I think me being gay will be hard enough for them to accept but the added bonus of me not finding people my own age attractive can only make things even more difficult.

It's something I'm terribly self-conscious about and I know that I just don't find men my own age or even a little bit older at all attractive, I just can't help it. They're just the same as women to me, I can't feel anything at all. I guess I feel some kind of shame for my attractions and I don't know how to feel more confident that everything I feel is ok.

I don't really know what I'm asking tbh with you. I'd just like some opinions about how people feel about these kind of relationships or some information about anyone they know about who has been in one or had one.

Thanks.

Hey there,

Nothing wrong with having a type you are attracted to! I think you will find the older/younger relationships are generally well accepted in the gay community. There will always be people who dont understand when they see something different to their expectations, but you will work out how to deal with that.

Confusedmile:

I think you make this too much thought ... perhaps it is not common, but a problem I do not see. if your feelings are like that. is it still ok.