Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Open Relationships (feeling really insecure)
Hey guys, I'm feeling pretty down right now. I think my boyfriend desires a more open relationship and it makes me feel shitty. This is all very ironic because I was the one who initially wanted an open relationship. Sorry if this story is too long, hopefully it is interesting. First let me give you our history. My boyfriend is 3 years older than me and was the first person I ever had sex with. I am a white 22 year old from a liberal family and he is a South Asian 25 year old from a conservative Muslim family that will probably disown him when he comes out. We were both each other's first boyfriends. The first time we dated I was a complete newbie to the entire gay dating world and I really did not know what I wanted. By what I thought was a mutual desire, we agreed to have an open relationship. My boyfriend later told me that he did not really want an open relationship at this time and felt pressured. From what he has told me, he was completely in love with me during this time and didn't believe in open relationships because he saw his parents' relationship as a model. Our first time dating was a little rough, and neither of us knew what we really wanted. I did a really bad job with communicating when we were in different place over the summer because I thought that we were taking a break while we were apart. I ended up hurting his feelings by this lack of communication, and in order to repair things, I decided to go visit him in New York City. During that trip, we had a lot of good times but too many small arguments and I thought that we both mutually decided to end the relationship. I later found out that he thought that I had broken up with him in a hurtful way and harbored some resentments against me. After he broke up with me, he lived a pretty wild life in new york and hooked up with lots of people, however he told me that he never got over us and thought about me a lot. Meanwh