Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Please give insight into my long-distance relationship trouble
OK, so here’s my predicament. I have been with my boyfriend for two years, 14 months of which has been a long-distance relationship because I moved to Switzerland to do a two-years masters degree. I love my boyfriend, he loves me and we have both been faithful to each other. However, we spend very little actual time together. We are only a one and half hour flight away from each other (he lives in the UK, where I am from), but because I am a student and he is unemployed, we don’t have the money to buy flights very often to see each other. Also, as a student, I’m always working and stressed so don’t have as much (quality) time to spend with him as I want to. Nevertheless, we speak at least once everyday on the phone and/or on skype.

Over the past couple of months, I feel as if I am growing increasingly emotionally detached from him. Even though I feel that I still love him, we find ourselves with nothing to really talk about. Also, I am happy living in Switzerland and would like to stay here because the quality of life is so much better than the UK and the job opportunities are better. But I don’t think my boyfriend wants to move out here to be with me, even though he says that he would be open to doing so. I am also becoming bored of the relationship because we never see each other. I have counted and over the past year we have spent about three weeks together, and of those three weeks, we tend to get on each others nerves quite quickly as we are not used to being around each other so much anymore. We seem to have nothing in common and we share no common life together.