Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Star Wars
I'm not a fan but I liked more or less the whole 6 movies. A 7th by Disney? We'll see, maybe is going to be a crappy film, maybe not, maybe good...

Woollyhats Wrote:I don't think anyone has to watch or care about the Disney adaptions if they don't want too. The original classics will always be just that, no matter how good (or bad) Disney's take on Star Wars is.
And as usual I agree with the wiser teen ever, Kuma... ;-)

Episode 7 is being written by Lawrence Kasdan and Michael Arndt and directed by JJ Abrams. That's an awesome combination. There's a good chance it is going to be fabulous. Really looking forward to it.

MisterTinkles Wrote:[B]But does an artist have the right to change a piece AFTER the fact? Especially after a fan base has been created on that work?

As an artist I say ABSOLUTELY if that's what I am compelled to do.

As a fan I say absolutely, but don't expect me to simply just like or love it the way I did before.

I'm a great fan of Star Wars and my love for it has not been so dependent on that relationship to compel me to be angry, disappointed, frustrated or put off by the work's evolution. I really don't give a rats ass about the evolution because my love and respect for the original was genuinely appreciated and remains as such. No matter what happens from that time that appreciation will not be changed. It's just a matter of personal taste. And I expect the majority of "hardcore" fans might disagree but I'd argue that taking that approach limits possibility and shuns for irrational purposes other than the life of the work itself. My MAIN interest in work lies with the artist's rendering and intent, if available, and the only way I let my own personal agenda dictate in the matter is if I struggle to actually like the artist's work in the first place.

blah blah blah... Great prosperity the legacy hath afforded. The part I fell in love with remains for my eternal edification. Laugh