Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
USA schools
as there are a fair few of our USA cousins on here,I thought I would ask something I always wondered about,

Are schools in the USA as segmented as TV would have us believe,we always hear about the jock crowd,geeks,popular crowd etc and if so were do out gays fit into this mix?

I graduated high school in 2000. Back then everybody had cliques and groups of people that they hung out with. I was a social outcast myself. I didnt fit in with my classmates. I grew up in a small conservative town out in the country. A openly gay student was unheard of in my high school. The town I grew up in was very homophobic. Rumors would circulate that certain staff or students were gay. People would make fun of them and talk behind there backs. I remember sitting on the bus one day and hearing a female student wonder aloud if any gay students were on the bus. She said there more than likely were and she exclaimed how disgusting it was that we had to share a bus with them. I cant really comment on todays social climate in the schools but Im sure things have slightly improved for gays. High school is as rough right of passage for many kids growing up.

Middle schools and high schools can be that way yes. Gays are not welcomed very much by the other guys in the school, but the girls dont seem to mind much. When I was going through it, there was no way in the world I would come out then, but college is a bit different. At universities, People care a lot less about age, sports status (unless your Cam Newton), sexuality, or race. The people you meet in college are a lot more accepting of everyone. Theres even a kid here that wears Drag to class every once in a while, sure people still make comments, but what ive heard, everyone thinks hes actually a reall cool, this coming from both straight men and gay men. Its a big differnce in college.

Short answer, yes and no.