Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ugh
Hey remember me? haven't been around much lately. It has been a really nice summer here and I have been trying to take advantage of every minute being outside. I'll be back, moping around like Eeyore, when the snow flies.

This week the mother of my biggest and most embarrassing high-school crush died. She worked in our school office and was a very nice lady. I posted the news on our alumni FB group and talked to some friends (whom I'm now out to and know I sweated her son back in the day).

I was going to go to the funeral, but I thought about it more and became more and more ambivalent about it. I for the most part closed the door on that part of my life many years ago, and haven't spoken to her (or him) since I graduated. It would b weird to randomly show up at something like this. And --while he was nice enough to me-- alot of his friends weren't. In the end I decided to leave well enough alone.

I was a little curious what he looks like now; my friend who still lives locally went to the wake and said he is bald with a gray goatee. I know he's married and has kids.

I don't know why I'm posting this... just feel weird about it, and it's been dogging me all week.

People change and over decades they change a lot. That kid that you knew is long gone and I think trying to reconcile that fact with the picture of him in your head is what causes these weird feelings.

You know that he's gone forever along with any opportunities he presented. But physically he's still there. It creates a disconnect and you wanna go talk to the boy he used to me not the man that he is.

....I think

How come everybody's looking so old, while I still look the same?