Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Wasted opportunity...Is it really my fault?
I grew up in the suburbs of New Jersey and I attended a design college in New York City.

The school has a very large gay student population and many of the professors are also openly gay. I even had a transgender professor who was a favorite among many students. Two of my most amiable classmates have a biological parent who is gay. The school is located in the Chelsea neighborhood in Manhattan which is the gayest neighborhood in the city. The streets adjacent to my dormitory were lined with rainbow flags...

So this may be SERIOUSLY hard to believe, but the VERY FIRST TIME I came out to anyone (other than family) was 3 months AFTER I graduated...!!! That's after four years of being in a gay Mecca. I look back at my life and I feel I totally wasted the opportunity...I'm no longer in the city, and the people I'm around now are not exactly the most accepting of gay people.

I suppose my reasons for not coming out to anyone can be traced back to how there was such little support for gay people in my high school. I became a recluse because of it and it was completely ingrained in my mind. My only "friend" was a devout Catholic and he was EXTREMELY homophobic (I knew him since elementary school). The only openly gay guy in my class was pretty much mocked by everyone.

(However, there was another guy in my class who was on the down-low and kept giving me gay-signals even though they flew past me. At that time, I didn't realize he was sending me those messages...and I didn't even know there were guys on the down-low...in fact, I didn't even know what "down-low" meant! I'll have to write about this story in another topic).

But anyway, when I was heading off to college I felt that it would be a brand new start for me and that I could finally just be me. But there were several things which kept me bottled up inside...