Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What just happened?
Nick9 Wrote:The US court system will never stop amaze me... Try to explain to someone from my country that in four days you managed to press charges, the police put him in jail, there was a trial, he got bailed out, managed to find you hiding somewhere, the police found his comrades who were looking for you, they questioned them, put him in jail again and he got out again.

Seriously... wow.

He didn't get a trial, you usually post bail prior to a trial. Depending on how busy the courts are where he lives it will likely take months before a trial happens.

The proper thing for Grey to do is to continue to report the threats and harassment to the police, this creates a reliable record of the criminal behavior for when a trial does occur. I'm no lawyer, but you might be able to file a civil lawsuit while this progresses if it has effected your ability to work, depending on state law you might be entitled to restitution for the abuse also.

I see, thanks. It wouldn't be possible in my country anyway.

Isn't it kind of contra-productive to release someone who was arrested because of domestic violence on bail? :confused:

I honestly do not know how cops accept or tolerate gay domestic violence nowadays, back in my twenties they all but egged it on and did little to nothing, thinking that those 'homos' deserved what they got. Rolleyes

I think now days there are laws on the books to force tolerance, but if you feel the detective or officers in charge of your case are 'reluctant' due to your sexuality, you may need to pursue a higher up.

Also, I fear laws are such that the restraining order really doesn't do much. They still wait until you are physically maimed or something before they actually throw him behind bars and throw away the key.

No not all relationships end this way. Many end downright friendly.