Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Why Americans are so Obese
Sorry, I have to post this to delete a draft so I can reply to someone else and has nothing to say.

Deryn Wrote:I'd have to agree with some of you with schools having a bit of the blame. After I graduated from high school and started college/got a part time job, I lost 15 lbs without doing any exercising (outside of anything I did at work) and only one change to my diet.

I stopped eating school lunches. I swear I have never seen anything so unhealthy. My school had a changing food schedule, so on Mondays you could get a salad, or a burrito, or a slice of pizza. It went on through the week, but every day they served pizza. Peperoni and a changing flavor.

The pizza was good-sized, i think they made it at one foot long and cut it into 6 slices. But as the helpful poster hidden behind the counter, with very small print, showed: One slice Peperoni Pizza: 1350* calories.

The asterisk led to a note that said: approximate value. Since the cafeteria workers made it themselves from per-packaged ingredients it could be (and thus probably was) even more unhealthy, More than half the suggested daily intake of a healthy person in one slice of pizza. Who's good idea was that?

My school was similar. The school pizza left grease stains and I thought tasted kinda like cardboard. They also had a snack bar which sold pizzas but they weren't better (less greasy, but it was also microwave, need I say more?)