Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Work stuff, maybe sexism.
Ok, I have a situation that is pretty much specific to the military, but has parallels.

We have something called EPR. once a year they grade you based on your performance, a maximum of 5. Im due for mine, and I have just been told I will probably get a 4. Doesnt seem too bad at first, but its pretty shitty.

Its supposed to be fair, but everyone gets a 5. There was one person who was being really shady and playing favorites, it got so bad that he was sent to a different section, like being transferred to a different store. He got a 4.

Im a hard worker, and arrogant as it may sound, Im damn good. I have found problems that the craftsmen couldnt find, and Im only an apprentice. there is a female there who always has some theory, and it is always wrong, and a female sergeant who backs her up and groups me with the fuck ups.

The reason I enlisted was so that I could become an officer, but with a 4 on an EPR, I will never get it.

for comparison, imagine you are one of the best performers at school, and your principle/headmaster decides he will personally grade everyone as he sees fit. everyone else gets a 100% except the people who do really bad, like light a classroom on fire. and he gives you an 80% instead.

Do I seem to be in the wrong here? He has no complaints about me, just thinks that Im not beiing competitive enough. I do almost all the work on my shift, i dont know how to be more competitive...

Also, I cant quit so... fuck

Back when he was living, my grandfather used to say, "He that tooteth not his own horn, the same shall not be tooted." You have to make it look like you are trying hard even when you find it easy. This is important because if people think that what you do is easy for you then they will not respect what you do. BUT, if you make what you do look difficult (especially when it's easy) then people will respect what you do a LOT more.

Here's a BIG secret: