Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Writer with question about coming to terms with being bi/gay
In the intro forum I told y'all I'm a writer. I have a book I'm working on and want to make sure I get the feelings right. Does any one have any experience with deciding that it is okay to let yourself feel attraction to men?

I have a businessman, with a somewhat abusive, not terribly tolerant family that he is rather dependent upon emotionally. He's always known he was attracted to men, but has covered it for years by being promiscuous with women. While traveling he met a young man who he clicked with and explored that side of himself. Then he had to return home, wants to call the man, but doesn't want to be gay. As a result he gets himself into trouble with heavy drinking trying to avoid the feels.

Does this sound right? My ex was practically at war with himself over what he wanted and what he could live with. I need the conflict because its a romance and the course of true love doesn't run smooth, but I want it to be as realistic as I can make it. Any tips or info will be fawned upon.

Ps. they live happily ever after. Smile

It's plausible. Remember, we're as different from one another as we are from straight men, so really if you're thinking along the lines of "what is a human reaction" you're on the right track.

First of all, it's great that you're going for a more realistic story. A lot of gay romances (or romances in general) offer COMPLETELY idealized versions of reality. Either that or there's some sort of obstacle that is quickly overcome, never to appear again.