Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
gay tradespeople
hi guys i am a plasterer in england. do you fellas only use gay tradespeople for jobs? i am still in the closet when in time with the family and freinds so i could not advertise as this but what do you think? is it a bit blinkered as if the other way you would be called homophobic. i am on a plasterers forum and most members on there are actaully ggod people if a bit laddish. only the one time heve seen someone say they are gay and it was recieved well Ride

I'm a painter, well in the Fine Art sense lol!

I use whoever can do the job and not overcharge for it. I'm not paying an ass parade, I'm paying a professional to do what he/she does best and if he/she's gay good for him. So are we, my husband and I. Gays are doing pretty well in business for the most of them... one may support the community, but I won't go with a painter just because he/she's gay.

Jeez, we've had equality for quite a bit in my neck of the woods....can't say that sexuality is really a criterion for me picking trades, lol. I'd usually go by recommendation first. And if the person was hot, bonus. Homophobes are getting harder and harder to find, so less of an issue to avoid them. Wink Most people are pretty indifferent, and if anything appreciate a compliment, hahaha.

Good luck with it. Wink

I wouldn't use as a criterion for hiring someone (except a masseur, or maybe a physician) that he is gay. But, living in a city with a big gay population, there is a gay newspaper, and over the years there have been lots of (presumably) gay guys advertising in it. The ads must get some benefit, or they would not be worthwhile.

I am a painter - as in the whole house type, and a carpenter and a plumber, I have done roofs, hung drywall, plastered, etc. etc. etc. Name it I most likely did it.

I don't hire people to do those sorts of things for me. I do them myself.