Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
If you have a chance to tell...
Hi guys,

I'm a 1st year degree student in Mass Communication from Malaysia and I'm doing a presentation this coming Wednesday for a subject called "Global Societies"...

I'll be presenting on gay rights: equality in workplace, marriage, etc. I'll be presenting this to a group of about 20 to 30 students and I wonder if you guys, representing the gay community, given a chance, what would you like to say to these group of people?

In our nation, homosexuality is still on the hush-hush & I look forward and value your opinions. I do hope to share or even use some of your responses if you don't mind. Thanks.

Hello Firefly. I live in England much of the time although I spend as much time as possible in France with my partner. Your project sounds interesting and a good use of the web. While I don't claim to represent anyone or any group other than myself there are a few things I might want to say, including:
  • I tend not to think in terms of "gay rights" these days, but more in terms of "fairness" and "equality of regard";
  • I expect to be treated with fairness and I expect to treat others fairly;
  • who I love and choose to be with has no effect on the quality of life of anyone else;
  • my personal freedoms only need to be restricted when they restrict the freedoms of others;
  • being gay is not a choice;
  • don't presume to know my needs better than I know them;
  • I cannot accept the authority of a supernatural being whose existence will probably never be proven, but I accept that many people find comfort in the continuity that religion and religious culture provide;
  • I am not a threat until you find it convenient to make me one.