Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
new job and terrified
so I got a job as an electrician that I've been trying to get for a while now and I'm excited to be going into a field I'm interested in but it's my first job in the field and normally if there's training involved it will say so in the job description with this company but this one does not. now I'm afraid that I wont know what I'm doing or can't catch on fast enough. I have a technical degree and I have the basics down but I'm afraid that it will not be enough. has anyone been in this situation before? I start to get nauseous when I think about starting Pukeface
[Image: tumblr_n60lwfr0nK1tvauwuo2_250.gif]

Obviously they hired you knowing that you are a novice. So if they could see the talent you have and hire you, I would say you have no problem.

You will learn more skills along the way. This goes for any job, whether its something new, or something you have been doing your whole life....there are always new things to learn.

Dont worry, you will be super duper!

I can't say that I have been in your shoes...

is it possible to get a training course somewhere, maybe even ask for the company for it?

Otherwise, you'll learn along the way, and I think they would assume that

southbiochem Wrote:I can't say that I have been in your shoes...

is it possible to get a training course somewhere, maybe even ask for the company for it?

Otherwise, you'll learn along the way, and I think they would assume that

they do have training courses but usually you have to apply for it like you would for another position.
[Image: tumblr_n60lwfr0nK1tvauwuo2_250.gif]

mmm....you lose nothing in applying for one of those courses...

It's not very common anymore, but a lot of company's prefer to hire novices, as they can train them the way the company wants you to be trained.

If they hired an expert, then they would have to retrain him/her, knowing that they are set in the ways of another company.