Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Does my "straight" friend have feelings for me?
So here's the story: I'm a student and was studying abroad in Spain last year and I had a friend who I met doing a "language exchange" with as he wanted someone to help him with his English and I wanted someone to help me with my Spanish. The two of us ended up hanging out on a regular basis and became close friends. For the sake of clarity I'll call him “Jose” in this post although that isn't his actual name.

Jose was always very friendly toward me and I thought nothing of it at the time, but since then I've begun to wonder if maybe he doesn't have feelings for me. The last few days that I was in Spain I stayed with him. I'd mentioned in passing once that I liked serrano ham (which is, for lack of a better way of putting it, Spain's fanciest ham) and so he went out and bought some specifically for me while I was staying with him. Additionally, he saw me to the taxi I took to the train station the day I left and hugged me. In our e-mails and other correspondences with each other he'll often write things like "un fuerte abrazo" (a strong hug). When we hung out while I was in Spain he would also often do things like buy my drinks for me when we were out

Males tend to be more demonstrative with their feelings in Spain; for instance I had another male friend there who at one point ended an e-mail to me with “abrazos” but he was never as emphatic about how much he liked me as Jose is, and I maintain no illusions that he was interested in me.

Jose and I have continued to talk via skype since I came back to Canada and he still often says stuff that's ambiguously romantic-sounding stuff like this to me fairly often. For instance it was my birthday recently and he said he felt bad that we didn't get to talk that day. He came back from vacation recently and he IMed me on skype. We ended up video chatting and he told me he was “very happy” to get a chance to see me.