Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Another school activity that worked really well!
As you all know, I'm a high school teacher and I'm always looking for new activities to keep my students (ages 16 - 19) motivated.

It's not easy! Those kids come from the local slums and they're the toughest students you can possibly imagine.

I've already told about my Android tablets (class saviors, I bought eight of them and I don't regret it at all, it was a great investment) and yesterday we did some creative writing. They watched seven movie clips (I used Nero Multimedia to make the DVD with the videos) and wrote a conclusion to those scenes.

Chosen movies were: The Ugly Truth, Prometheus, A History of Violence, Goldfinger, Hellraiser 1 (no gore, just the protagonist walking down a shadowy corridor), Mr Bean goes to school (always a favorite among these kids) and Warm Bodies.

They're mostly girls, so I was pretty sure they were going to love Warm Bodies and The Ugly Truth and they did!

The 90 minutes flew by, they practiced their writing skills and I was proud! Smile Smile Smile

Ummmm....
Good for you and your students...?

That's great
Confusedmile:

O: I need you at my school!!!

Wow.....

you have DEDICATION written all over you.

I can't say I have met a single teacher who bought stuff like that just for the sake of teaching..

:eek:

many congratulations on your dedication to your students, sir

I would say America.........uh, excuse me.........The United States needs teachers like you, but they would just shit all over you, pay you badly, and the parents and school board would blame you for all their problems.

So, you are perfect where you are at.

Here is a future class project, for your consideration.

It involves teamwork, imagination, and determination.

Since you have Ipads, why not make a "statement" video that will be allowed to post on Youtube.
(make sure the school administration approves of this)

Here are the "rules":