Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Krautrock
Okay, so "Krautrock" isn't the most sensitive term for the music genre, but it's the most recognizable.

I'm developing an obsession with this genre (basically progressive 60's/70's rock from Germany with influences that can range from electronic music, avant-garde, jazz etc.) and I was wondering if there are any other fans on this forum!

The most famous and commercially successful Krautrock band, by far, is Kraftwerk but others include Can, Tangerine Dream, Popol Vuh, Neu!, Faust and Amon Duul. Basically, since I'm somewhat new to the genre, I'd be interested in hearing what other people have to say about it. To me it just comes off as insanely more interesting than the rock that was being made in the states at this point. Bands in Germany were busy pioneering electronic music, introducing Eastern elements to their music, creating absolutely beautiful neo-classical compositions and GAH! so many innovations, such diversity. You can even find albums that fuse psychedelic folk rock with jazz improvisations. It's like this huge well of material waiting to be explored.

My favourite Krautrock bands so far are Popol Vuh and Neu! Hosianna Mantra offers some of the most beautiful music ever made. Are you a Krautrock fan? What are your favourite albums? I need more!!

Tangerine Dream is German???? REALLY???? I have loved them since the 80's and never knew they were German!!!

When you mentioned Krautrock, I thought it was an actually rock style music......like Rammstein.

MisterTinkles Wrote:Tangerine Dream is German???? REALLY???? I have loved them since the 80's and never knew they were German!!!

When you mentioned Krautrock, I thought it was an actually rock style music......like Rammstein.

Yup, it's a German band alright.