Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Madonna and Gay Men 30+.
Hiya,

I am a third year Media student at university and as I have always had an interest in the appeal of Madonna to gay men (through watching my big brother and best friend constantly being obsessed with her), I have chosen to do my dissertation on this subject.
I am looking at things like:
How far can Madonna be considered a gay icon?
What is it that gay men like about Madonna- why do they love her or dislike her?
Could she still be considered a gay icon?
If you still like Madonna, is it for the same reasons today as it was when you were younger? What were the reasons?
With regards to Madonna, their are theorist that argue she is an extremely clever commodity who has just tapped into a market with a disposable income, what are your feelings on this?

I would appreciate any help at all with this; any thoughts no matter how detailed will benefit me massively. I am not gay and I can only assume things, but as gay men (and lesbian input is welcomed as well) you can tell me what exactly it is that does it for you.
From this I will try to incorporate your thoughts and opinions into my research.

Thank you so much for your time and I look forward to your responses, as soon as possible (yea I left it untill the last minute- typical student I know!)

Regards,
Charlotte.
Laugh1

It is mearly a fashion for that generation, and has become a habit for those millions.

Well thats how i see it Roflmao.

Personally I cannot stand madonna!

Not sure if my opinion is relevant to your study but if it is here goes.

I think a large part of Madonnas appeal is her ability to constantly reinvent herself. The proof that growing older doesn't necessarily mean growing up and looking old or losing popularity.

Her music doesn't stick to too many boundries and it makes for a good dance!!

I can't say I'm a huge fan but I do like her.