Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
OY! My ears!
Anyone else have tinnitus?  Mine is especially bad these days and I don't know how to deal with it apart from drilling a hole through one ear to the other to let the demons out!
I bid NO Trump!

I think everyone has tinnitus, aren't we? Whenever I am alone in a quiet space, I can hear it for sure. If the condition worsens, you might wanna go to see a doctor. Let the professionals take care of that. Smile
[-] The following 1 member Likes Alvin's post:
  • LJay

I have had tinnitus for decades. As a musician I tried so hard to take care of my hearing, but obviously not hard enough. My tinnitus is loud enough to be heard over all other sound. I did go and see my doctor a few years ago who sent me for further examination at a hospital audiology department. As a result I was diagnosed with moderate hearing loss above 2kHz in both ears. This was much worse than I thought it might be. I rather expected that I could still perceive frequencies at least to 6kHz. The tinnitus is my brain trying to make sense of the signals it wants to receive but cannot.

The audiologist recommended and prescribed hearing aids. They made an immediate difference to me. They didn't get rid of the tinnitus, but they did mean I could function without focussing on it quite so much. Sometimes it drives me absolutely crazy. It rushes in with a vengeance when I take out my hearing aids to go to bed. The irony is that I have aways craved to live in a quiet place and now I do I am not physically capable of perceiving silence.