Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Online Astro.... Courses
Has anyone else taken the courses available through coursera?

http://coursera.org

I completed one last year on the Search for Extraterrestrials. It was from the University of Edinburgh and presented the ways in which astro-scientists search for carbon based life forms.

I am currently taking a course on the Diversity of Exoplanets being offered by the University of Geneva. Its much much much much much more science based and very strong on the astrophysics aspects. And it is totally fascinating.

I am an engineer and my understanding is such that I can appreciate what they are saying and could likely perform the calculations, but with the right assistance.

Any other 'astro' courses that others have taken?

Sorry, never took an online course in anything. However this does sound fascinating, so maybe I can do a bit of bumping to get this thread back on the front page.

Surely all of these kids born into the world of interwebs have the answer. Xyxthumbs

I have never taken one either but I have always thought it would be great to learn ...

I had one friend who was a very accomplished computer programmer (from the early days) and quite scientific minded who told me one day he wanted to "do my chart" but he needed my specifics on time and place of birth...he was also a bar customer of mine...

So I gave it to him and forgot about it and a while later he came to me with pages and pages of graphs....

...and then he laid it all out for me and it was amazingly accurate to a degree I never expected. I felt like he was spying on me or else he was psychic and just figured it all out...but he went into very detailed explanations to explain each thing...lasted for hours...