Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Strange but true
Just recently I realized some things that have "switched over" from one extreme to the other.
I graduated high school in the 80's, so its been about 30 years or so since....but things do take a little time to get even more screwed up than they already were.

So Im speaking of what was "the mode", "the way", or "the thing" in the 80's has pretty much become opposite from what it was then.

ANOREXIA was the big health problem then. There were TV movies about it, there were "starvation clubs" in schools, it was all over the news several times a week. Even a musical star, Karen Carpenter, died from anorexia.
OBESITY is the big health problem now. Almost everything in American foods is either grease, sugar, or starch. Nobody exercises anymore. Candy is EVERYWHERE. I mean really....isnt it child abuse when your 10 year old weighs 200 pounds???? Or your husband is confined to the bedroom, because he's too obese to get thru the door???

Compact cars were being pushed on the public to get people to cut down on gas consumption. Cars were getting smaller and smaller, until the "Big 3" said "to hell with it" and started making economizations in the engines and started making "luxury" sized vehicles again.
Trucks, SUV's, and "gas guzzlers" have become the norm now, simply because nobody cares anymore. The more economical the engine gets, the bigger the vehicle gets, which still is the same as having a big gas guzzler.....because it takes the same amount of fuel to haul a larger vehicle with an economical engine, as it does to haul a smaller vehicle with a large engine.

Healthcare Insurance was a choice then. You did not have to have it. A lot of hospitals and clinics, and Doctors offices still had "pay as you go" plans.