Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
disappointed
ok, so I've been wondering what others have been through that graduated with a degree and went job hunting for the first time. I've been looking around and I feel kind of disappointed with the openings I've found. I have a bachelor degree in electrical engineering and most of the openings that have been sent my way are for customer service jobs or jobs that I could have gotten without the degree.

don't get me wrong they're good jobs and pay well, I just thought I would be doing something closely related to my degree. part of why I choose this field is because I wanted to make or repair stuff, and it feels like all the years of studying would be in vain if I got a job I qualified for before I decided to go to college.

so I was wondering what everyone else went though after college, did you immediately end up at a job you felt satisfied with or did you have to look for a while?

so location is not important to you?

give it some time. rember to get an indeed, linke-in accounts, use craigslist too. layout, simulation, fpga and embedded skills are nice.

engineering; is better than some careers, not as good as some.

I used to have a neighbor who was "overqualified" because of her degree and couldn't get hired anywhere because the jobs available thought she would get "bored" and leave. McDonalds hired her temporarily, but they'll hire anyone for a short while. Meanwhile the jobs she was qualified for weren't available, which sucked given her massive debt from her college loans...

Pix Wrote:I used to have a neighbor who was "overqualified" because of her degree and couldn't get hired anywhere because the jobs available thought she would get "bored" and leave. McDonalds hired her temporarily, but they'll hire anyone for a short while. Meanwhile the jobs she was qualified for weren't available, which sucked given her massive debt from her college loans...