Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hair of the dog : )
This is more like crafts or hobbies than art, but I wanted to share something I got into because of my shaggy dog Smile

I started needle-felting as I'd saved a heap of my dog's hair, from his first brush after being washed. He sheds so much 'wool', which feels like mohair, so I wanted to try to make something with it.

I first tried wet felting, using soap and agitation, but then discovered 'Dry Needle Felting' on You Tube.
The process is amazing, as its all done with needles ( like sewing needles), that have tiny barbs on the end, which interlock the fibres.

This page shows a few I've done- https://sites.google.com/site/myfeltworks/
I'm only a novice, it's very time consuming, but a lot of fun to learn.

Anyone else tried felting? Any other crafts or hobbies to share?

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

That's quite impressive, I'd never have thought create things with dog hair :p

I can't get over the fine detail as they are so small .( noticed the match stick.)
Incredible.

I love knitting, embroidering, tapestry and crochet , when my sister and I get together , we will often make beautiful edgings on washers ,hand towels and bath-towels.
Usually something we do for wedding or births.

All of our babies and their babies have come home in hand made baby blankets.
At the moment we are involved in Kas care we also make baby beanies for local hospitals.

They are always received with love ,it warms my heart to welcome a child into the world with love.

My sister had a Saint Bernard a while back. The thing shed so much I thought of finding out how to make yarn.

They are amazing! Thumbgrin

Thats so cool! Looks like a lot of work and patience...I wanna have a go~ How long does it take you to make one?