Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How do I tolerate college?
I am a special ed student at a liberal arts university in Arkansas. I am in a "supplemental" academic building (essentially an expanded resource room) for like 3-4 hours a day and I am so bored with my life.

College, huh? Take a deep breath, sit down, and do the work. That's the one part you can control and easily the most important bit. The rest you just get to ride out as you go.

I have no work ethic, though. I grew up in a Suburban environment where everything was handed to me.

Arkansota Wrote:I have no work ethic, though.

Work on that and find it. Without it, you're wasting your time at a college. Try finding study groups if you can. You can learn from example that way, and they might help you stay on task.

One day at a time.

Arkansota Wrote:I have no work ethic, though. I grew up in a Suburban environment where everything was handed to me.

Then build one. What kind of response are you expecting out of anyone?

"Oh, just don't do the work and fail because you have no work ethic"?

College is not THAT hard. It's a lot of work, but it's not impossible by any means. College is like anything else in life— you get back what you put into it. If you don't want to do the work or have the effort, then leave. It's a waste of your time. It really is that simple.

Go at your own pace, and build up your work ethic. Work ethic is really important, or else, getting behind the class is just horrible.

Maybe you should consider whether you made the right choices, maybe you should look at doing different things, either within college or outside it.

And you cannot blame your background, you need to take control of your life! You get to make decisions, and you can make decisions within you too! Choose to be motivated, make an effort to do things, there is literally no other way you can get yourself out of this situation. It's either this way or you get stuck for the rest of your life