Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Supreme Court of India declares gay sex illegal
I'm sure you've all heard of it by now, but basically the supremem court of India reinstated the Colonial homosexuality law that banned gay sex.

for some reason I apparently follow like 10 Indian news websites on facebook... and you see a lot of comments that appear to be homophobia rooted in culture and customs, specifically referencing Hinduism

But today I read this: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/home/...m=referral

I always suspected that many of the formerly colonial world's apparently conservative and intolerant views actually stem from Colonial impositions and epistemic violence; the only knowledge of Hinduism I have pretty much comes from reading A Passage to India and the God of Small Things at school and that's pretty much just that Hinduism is very much fluid and undefinable, so I'm no expert on it, but I do now think that the homophobic attitudes that permeate India, and other post-colonial countries may possibly come predominantly from a negative by[rpocudt of globalisation and westernisation, where cultures become confused.

The article also gives insight on sex and religion.

That's just fantastic...

so the law, number 377 or article number 377 or whatever was indeed a Brit law from Victoria herself claiming that gayness was sodomy and blah blah blah..

but, nevermind that, it takes a country like India to still enforce such a law when in Britain itself they no longer do..

I will say on behalf of India, that it's sorrounded by muslim countries, invaded by muslim populations and shit like that, so to try and be "modern" will not go well with many people there..*sigh*

curiously enough it is precisely this muslim folks and the ever stupid evangelic churches that have appealed the decision made 4 years ago to legalize gayness..

more so than hinduists themselves..

sad thing really..