Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Those of you who have left university....
I'm 22 years old now and I'm studying English Philology. The studies are 8 semesters long and now I'm in the 5th semester. I have to say I'm desperate. I've many study debts, not the money, but failed exams that I cannot push myself to retake. Every day is a torture for me. I like languages, English is not my native language. I had very good marks in English in the high school and when I entered university, I thought that I will be studying something I really like, but I was wrong. I realized already after the first semester, that I'm not interested in this. I would like to leave so much, but I feel like I will be letting down my parents then, because they already from my birth saved money so that I could study one day and now they pay very big sum for every semester. They don't know what a poor student I am, they think my studies are ok, and I can't tell them the truth, because I know they would be angry. I don't have a job and I'm still living with my parents.

What should I do? I know I have to take myself in hands, but I just cannot do it, if I have to do something I hate. I would just love to get a job and quit university. Even more, I never understood people who commit suicides, until I started studying. Now often I think that this is the only exit from this nightmare. No, I will not kill myself, I love myself too much to do it, but every day I wish for something to happen because of what I could quit my studies. Anything, really.

I had to get this off my chest.

Is here someone who has left the university or thinking about doing it? Do you regret or do you feel happy that you did?

My suggestion is to get a part time job, and research into alternatives. You don't like what you're studying -- that's fine. It happens to a lot of people.