Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I don't know what to do
Hey guys, I'm new to this whole site but I really need an advice. My whole family has been ignoring me ever since I came out. I feel alone. I hope you guys can help me.

Hi you. That sucks. Did you come out recently or has it been this way for long?

There's lots of guys in situations similar to yours, so don't feel alone for that reason.

Since I know very few details of the situation, I can't really help that much. All I can say, however, is that sometimes it takes families a while for them to come around and accept a family member who has come out as gay. How long since you came out? They might need more time. Even if they never fully "get over it", things can get better. That being said, you have the right to be who you are and if they do not respect that, you can find people who will accept you for exactly who you are.

Two things.

What are YOU doing to reach out to them?

What friendships are you maintaining and what do you do to maintain them?

It is possible you may be used to people coming to you, but you may need to start going to others more. What gay friends do you have?

Re-read the above post.

You also need to be reaching out to reassure them that you are still the same person.

Just re-connect on the everyday things and let them know that everything is still 'normal'.

welcome to GS firstly....
your question is perfectly suited to gayspeak....the site is set up so people who are gay don't have to be alone !!! you can chat here and make friends anytime of the day....th eplus side is you will get great advice from others who even gone through the very same problem you are having right now...

for now I just say hang in there - your not suddenly going to disappear so hopefully your family will slowly come around just by having to interact with you over time

Welcome to the site Skymana.