Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Participants Needed
Cant offer money but i may buy you a coffee or pint Wink

My names Fiona and Im an anthropology student in her fina year i really need help with my dissertation topic which for many is a sensitive issue.

I am looking at the historical and social progression of HIV in the gay community.

I wanted to hear your stories (if you are gay and a HIV carrier)

The idea is its not the 1980's so how does the virus affect your life?
I have had people telling me its a blessing in disguise and others who feel distraught but I really need to speak to as many people as possible to get a real feel of modern HIV carriers lives.

This is a nuetral study no judgement will be made, participants can remain anonomous and we could even do it by email but i really need your help.

so if your happy to tell me your story please do

Fiona

Hi and welcome to the site.

Your dissertation sounds really interesting their should be some people on here who should be able to help you..

fiona Wrote:The basis of the dissertation is its not 1980's things have changes whats the world like now for carriers. Its completly nuetral and all I am looking for is your story !
Smile

Except for not really being clear on your basis of your dissertation, wow, what a run on sentence ya got there Party Party Party

for a short time in the 80s I had a mysterious health issue. My grandmothers doc diagnosed, he DIAGNOSED me with HIV by my appearance, LOL... He called my uni, a major research medical uni, and told him of his DIAGNOSIS. I went thru the tests. At the time I was told that the test was something like $125,000. Everyone was very nice. I will never forget how wonderful the main research physician was... but the other staff was a bit nervous, nice but putting on 5 sets of gloves to take my blood hehehe...

It turned out that I had a very rare form or mono which was nearly thru its course by the time I was DIAGNOSED with HIV...